2021 Digital Marketing Influencers | Inbound Marketing Agency


We are approaching the second anniversary of our top 100 digital marketing influencer report, according to Buzzsumo, so let’s dive back into Buzzsumo and take a look at what has happened over the past 12 months. 

Influencer marketing has been going from strength to strength in recent years with brands now seeing it as a core element of their marketing strategy. While the past 12 months have been uncertain due to the pandemic, the popularity of influencer marketing has continued to grow. According to the 2021 Influencer Marketing Benchmark Report from Influencer Marketing Hub, 75% of respondents intend to have a dedicated budget for influencer marketing in 2021.

Therefore, it’s important for these brands to ensure they are working with the ideal influencer for their audience and campaign. There are countless tools online that help identify key influencers and for this report, I am using Buzzsumo’s influencer reports.

What are Buzzsumo’s influencer reports?

If you have read the last two instalments of our top 100 digital marketing influencer reports you will be well aware of Buzzsumo’s influencer report. But, here is a quick overview, or you can find out more about why Buzzsumo is the perfect tool for content marketers here.  

BuzzSumo’s influencer tool identifies key influencers based on various search options such as a certain topic, domains, or searching specific users. These individuals, or companies, are then ranked depending upon their ‘influence’ on the specific search term. Influence is often a difficult thing to define, however, Buzzsumo states that someone’s influence is measured by how much they can impact the reach of a post or article. 

The influencer report can then be altered to sort results depending on various factors including the content they create and share, the average number of retweets they receive, and the relevancy of their content.

For the following list, I have removed any companies that were included, to help highlight specific influencers. As a result, some large brands such as Moz, Econsultancy, and Google Analytics have been removed in order to highlight individuals, not companies. Other than that the list has not been manipulated, it has been pulled directly from Buzzsumo, meaning neither myself nor Browser Media has had any impact on individual positioning. 

Key digital marketing influencer stats for 2021

  • Once again, this list shows that having a lot of followers doesn’t necessarily mean that an individual has the greatest influence. The average number of followers is approximately 88,000, and while that is still a relatively large following, the range varies from just over 3,000 to over 3 million. 
  • The average number of followers has dropped slightly from 2020 where it was approximately 94,000, however, the number of accounts these users are following has also decreased over the past 12 months (39,000 vs 17,000). This points to the fact that these individuals are more selective on who they are following, and could point to a rise in working with smaller influencers who may have a more engaged following. 
  • On average these individuals get 18 retweets per post which highlights the fact that their audience is constantly engaging with their posts. Additionally, 40% of all tweets shared by these influencers are replies, further pointing to the fact that they are engaging with their audience, which in turn boosts their influence. 
  • Following on from the above point, on average 17% of all tweets shared from these 100 influencers are retweets. Again, this shows that they are engaging with their audience and sharing content posted by other users, another example of how they are influencing the reach of a post. 

Buzzsumo’s Top 100 Digital Marketing Influencers for 2021

  1. Sorav Jain – @soravjain
  2. Neil Patel – @neilpatel
  3. Rand Fishkin – @randfish
  4. Eric Enge – @stonetemple
  5. Amber Naslund – @ambercadabra
  6. Barry Schwartz – @rustybrick
  7. Rahul Wadhawan – @rahul_wadhawan
  8. J.J. De la Torre – @delatorrejj
  9. Douglas Karr – @douglaskarr
  10. Amit Panchal – @amithpanchal
  11. AJ Ghergich – @seo
  12. Brian Dean – @backlinko
  13. Robert Jones – @exodusanalytics
  14. Ciamhie Mc – @ciamhiemc
  15. Mandy Edwards – @memktgservices
  16. Dan Knowlton – @dknowlton1
  17. Tod Maffin – @todmaffin
  18. Nathan Allen Pirtle – @workwthecoach
  19. Bob Hutchins – @bobhutchins
  20. Ammar Mohammed – @ammr
  21. Bill Sebald – @billsebald
  22. John Lincoln –@johnelincoln
  23. Shashi Bellamkonda – @shashib
  24. Dennis Yu – @dennisyu
  25. Jay Feitlinger – @jayfeitlinger
  26. Avinash Kaushik – @avinash
  27. Franz Russo – @franzrusso
  28. Clo Willaerts – @bnox
  29. Derek Edmond – @derekedmond
  30. Gareth O’Sullivan – @_garethg
  31. Alex Jiménez – @ralexjimenez
  32. Ryan Deiss – @ryandeiss
  33. Oli Gardner – @oligardner
  34. Ian Schafer – @ischafer
  35. Fadhila Brahimi – @fbrahimi
  36. Cyril Coste – @cyrilcoste
  37. Jon Henshaw – @henshaw
  38. AJ Kohn – @ajkohn
  39. Marc Cortes – @marccortes
  40. Andrew Grill – @andrewgrill
  41. Marie Haynes – @marie_haynes
  42. Mordecai Holtz – @mordecaiholtz
  43. Paddy Moogan – @paddymoogan
  44. Andrew Hickey – @andrewmhickey
  45. Stoney deGeyter – @stoneyd
  46. Ned James – @ned_james2
  47. Jamie Riddell – @jamieriddell
  48. Dan Sodergren – @dansodergren
  49. Winston Binch – @winstonbinch
  50. Kristi Kellogg – @kristikellogg
  51. Mike McGrail – @mike_mcgrail
  52. Samuel Scott – @samueljscott
  53. Minter Dial – @mdial
  54. Alex Moss – @alexmoss
  55. Mark Silva – @marksilva
  56. Jamie Turner – @askjamieturner
  57. Ashwini Dodani – @ashwinidodani
  58. Jerry Daykin – @jdaykin
  59. Jonathan Lacoste – @lacostejonathan
  60. Geoff D. – @geoffdx
  61. Chris Harrington – @chrisharrington
  62. Linda Boff – @lindaboff
  63. Derek Halpern – @derekhalpern
  64. Gabriele Carboni – @gabbariele
  65. Donald Miller – @donaldmiller
  66. Peep Laja – @peeplaja
  67. Bryan Eisenberg – @thegrok
  68. Chris Winfield – @chriswinfield
  69. Matt Cutts – @mattcutts
  70. Eric Siu – @ericosiu
  71. Lisa Barone – @lisabarone
  72. Cameron Conaway – @cameronconaway
  73. Alan K’necht – @aknecht
  74. Bryan Adams – @bryan_phc
  75. Mike Ramsey – @mikeramsey
  76. Yehoshua Coren – @analyticsninja
  77. Andrew Medal – @andrewmedal
  78. Amy Landino – @schmittastic
  79. Sean Ellis – @seanellis
  80. Gary Vaynerchuk – @garyvee
  81. Roberto Blake – @robertoblake
  82. Chad Pollitt – @chadpollitt
  83. Syed Balkhi – @syedbalkhi
  84. Kristi Hines – @kristileilani
  85. Lara O’Reilly – @larakiara
  86. Gary Illyes – @methode
  87. Michael Litman – @mlitman
  88. Laurent Bour – @laurentbour
  89. Christina Nicholson – @christinaallday
  90. Christine Gritmon – @cgritmon
  91. Iain Tait – @iaintait
  92. Brittany Berger – @thatbberg
  93. Jonathan Long – @long
  94. Steven Bartlett – @stevebartlettsc
  95. Tarcizio Silva – @tarciziosilva
  96. Hrish Thota – @dhempe
  97. Mayur Gupta – @inspiremartech
  98. Brandon Berger – @brandonberger
  99. Jeet Banerjee – @thejeetbanerjee
  100. Matthew Howells-Barby – @matthewbarby

Congratulations to all the new entries to the top 100, and congratulations to everyone how feature in either of the previous editions!!

** Disclaimer – Browser Media has had no influence or impact on this list, it is solely based on Buzzsumo’s influencer reports. To ensure the data remains fair and impartial there has been no alteration from any other sources. **





Read More: 2021 Digital Marketing Influencers | Inbound Marketing Agency

2021-06-09 14:31:27

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments